Skip to content

Back-up? Can I Have Some Back-up?

11 July 2008

During supper yesterday, the conversation at one point moved to cell phones, and  cell-phone contact lists, when the Consort mentioned my organizing method.

The hilarity which ensued as he described it to the girls was long-lasting. Trixie chortled with disbelieve. Impera would laugh and laugh and laugh, trailing off  to silence … then she’d remember it, giggle, and the laughter would begin again.

What is it that I do that is so funny? I have my contacts listed as Firstname Lastname. My sister? Firstname Lastname. My friend? Firstname Lastname.  My mother? Firstname Lastname. 

“Firstname Lastname? That’s crazy! You should have her in your list as ‘Mom’!”

[Insert more laughter.]

I’m not surprised that the Consort thinks it is funny. He’s got his address book organized by first name. His sister, whose initials are H.G., is listed under “H”. His mom, whose initials are D.H., is listed under “M”. I’ve learned his system, so that if I need to look something up in his address book, I know how to find it. But I’ve always considered his system the variant one, not mine.

Last night, I laughed along with them, but I warned them that I would mention this on my blog, and we’d see if I actually was the only person in the universe to have such an organizing principle for my cell-phone contact list.

Am I?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. 11 July 2008 9:48 am

    Mom is under M
    Dad is under D
    Sister is under A (her initial)
    Work is under W (name of company begins with W)
    Blog people I don’t know well are under their blog names
    Grandma would be under G, except i know her number by heart.
    Dr. X, Dr Y and Dr. Z are all in D
    Mechanic is under P (Passport is the name)
    Realty company in under A for its name

    Most people are under their first names only unless there’s more than one of them. I have several people named Emily, but the one without a last name is the default closest friend.

  2. Three of Four permalink
    11 July 2008 11:13 am

    Wow. I must be really old-fashioned. My cell phone contacts are all listed “Lastname, Firstname.” I’ve always thought of the Contacts list as an electronic version of the old (printed) address book. Why should it be sorted differently?

    It keeps families together (mostly) and, since I’m usually trying to get hold of a household (i.e., “We’re on our way over for the BBQ. Do you need us to pick anything up on the way?” or “Do you all want to meet us at the movies for the 5 o’clock showing? We can take the kids to Chuck E Cheese afterward.”), makes it easy to go right to the next number on the list. Even when I know that spouses haven’t changed names, I’ll sometimes list them as “Lastname1-Lastname2, Firstname” to get this grouping effect (sorry, Sis No. 2).

    Spouse complains sometimes that my method is time consuming. When I want speed, I use the speed dial. That’s what it’s there for!

  3. 11 July 2008 11:46 am

    My parents’ home number was under “Folks.” They didn’t have cell phones.

    What do you have for home? I have “Home.”

    For TMotH, I’ve got “TMotH Office” and “TMotH Cell.” Except his real first name, not “TMotH.”

    Other family members are Firstname. Everyone else is Firstname Lastname or Businessname, just because that’s the default on the phone.

    I’m gonna go with the gigglers on having your mother by her full name. Sorry!

  4. cowgirl permalink
    11 July 2008 12:25 pm

    well– on my personal cell, everything is First name last name, or “mom” “momdad cell” etc- like he consort. Family is by first name only.

    my work cell is a blackberry, so, all those are listed Lastname, Firstname, since that is how my e-mail addressbook is done (even for family) and the phone address book is tied to my work email addressbook.

    so- i get employ both methods and remain neutral 🙂

  5. 11 July 2008 12:57 pm

    Mine are mostly listed by firstname lastname, but sum are lastname, firstname. However I do not necessarily alphabetize them.

    T.

  6. 11 July 2008 12:58 pm

    That’s “some”.

    T.

  7. 11 July 2008 2:39 pm

    Hello! I am on a train right now using free wifi. It is VERY exciting.

    In my mobile (ie cellphone!) my mum is under Mum mob and my dad is under Dad. (Not sure why the difference!) I used to just have people in as firstname but now I have so many duplicates I nearly always add surnames in now too. Having said that my sisters are just under firstname – but noone else in my phone has the same names as my sisters 🙂 In my email address book, my parents are under mum and dad and the various permutations of that, but everyone else has full names listed.

    HOWEVER – in my address book (and for that matter the excel spreadsheet i print my christmas card labels from, which was originally set up for thank you labels for wedding presents) everyone is listed by full name, including my parents. So I don’t really think it’s odd.

    That wasn’t very helpful at all, was it?? 😀

  8. 11 July 2008 5:00 pm

    “First Name Last Name” filer here, with Mom and Dad not in the file because they’re no longer alive. Sister and brother are “First Name Last Name.” The in-laws are “First Name Last Name.” Friends are “First Name Last Name.” Clients are “First Name Last Name @ Business Name.”

  9. Cateling permalink
    11 July 2008 11:57 pm

    I use the Consort method, sorry.

  10. 12 July 2008 12:44 am

    First name, occasionally last name if the first name is a duplicate.

  11. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    12 July 2008 3:44 pm

    OK. So at least I am not the only one who uses people’s real names. But the Consort isn’t alone in his corner, either.

    No prob.

  12. 13 July 2008 12:07 pm

    Sorry Imperatrix I’d like to side with you but . . .

  13. 14 July 2008 10:33 pm

    Wait–“I am not the only one who uses people’s real names…”

    PI, it’s like 2 to 10! And one of the 2 is YOUR SISTER. I don’t think that it helps your case just because your sister is as crazy as you!

  14. 15 July 2008 7:24 am

    First, I had about 8 people on my mobile, including husband’s work and mobile. Second, if I needed to add someone who wasn’t a family member, and thus not a person I’d ever call again, I’d put an x in front of their name, so they wouldn’t clutter up the top of my list, which I had memorized how far down I’d have to scroll to get to “home” or “leah mobile”.

    I hate the whole concept of mobile phones, so maybe I’m not a good person to ask. Mine has been gone for more than 3 weeks, and I’m in no hurry to get a new one. (Especially since the girls are mostly overseas, and I can’t call them from my mobile.)

  15. 15 July 2008 7:26 am

    I should add–I have a lot of numbers memorized, especially of people I would call frequently, so I don’t especially need the list. However, when my phone was stolen and I needed to contact my husband quickly, I couldn’t remember the number to save my life.

  16. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    15 July 2008 9:27 am

    Consort, listen: Sometimes, in a scientific study, 20% is significant, with a p-value of less than 0.0001. So you just hush up!

    KathyF: I can’t stand cellphones, either. We got one for this year because we figured it would be useful as we traveled from Iowa to New Hampshire in two separate vehicles. It has not been a good experience; if I could I would cancel it when we got back to Iowa (but we’ll have another year of “contract”. Boy, that’s another thing the Europeans do better: mobile service!

Leave a Reply

