Skip to content

Broken Heat, Written List

10 July 2008

I know some people have been having a colder than usual summer. We, unfortunately, have been dealing with a hot and humid one. I am absolutely not a heat lover — give me a chill in the air any day; I can always add another layer. Without AC (which in Iowa we use to keep the humidity down, we set the thermostat at 78/79 F usually), I’ve been doing what I can by drawing drapes, making a cross-breeze with our three window fans, and by afternoon, sitting directly in the path of a blowing fan.

I’ve survived, but barely. The house is a mess, because I have had only enough energy to move growing piles from tabletop to floor to tabletop. Our sheets are not clean because the effort required to make the beds up with clean sheets would have taken too much away from the effort needed for breathing. Phone calls have not been made because my brain can’t coordinate mind-mouth communication. Showers are not pleasant because the towels aren’t getting completely dry — even if I put them on the drying rack outside during the day.

But there was some rain yesterday afternoon, a cold front is moving in, and it will be cool for the next 48 hours.

The heat has broken

So here’s my list, which I hope to update as the day progresses:

  • Change sheets
  • Mop kitchen floor
  • Clean off desk (this is a biggie)
  • Get recycling organized
  • Go through piles of books everywhere
  • Give Zephyr a nice long walk
  • Send those emails
  • Make those phone calls
  • Finish sock #1
  • Start sock #2
  • Knit on the scarf (at least 8 repeats)
5 Comments leave one →
  1. 10 July 2008 11:14 am

    This list appears to be incomplete. Where’s “sit at window and look at rain?”

  2. 10 July 2008 1:27 pm

    We can swap summers if you like. I am sick of rain and cold. I love variety in my weather and it seems like the rain and greyness has lasted for years.

  3. 10 July 2008 3:35 pm

    We took a walk today, for the first time since we got back. The woods seemed to have grown over with vines, and one well-worn path was green with new grass.

    So definitely take that walk.

  4. 10 July 2008 11:42 pm

    Impressive progress on that list!

  5. 11 July 2008 3:03 am

    With you on the subject of heat. Layers can be added but there is a limit to how much one can take off and still be within the bounds of public decency.

    I would have added to the list “go for refreshing walk in blessed rain”!

Leave a Reply

