Skip to content

9 July 2008

Yesterday Impera went to the optometrist for her last contacts fitting. While I was sitting in the waiting area (feels weird to not be in the room with her, but it isn’t like she needs me for anything, and she’s a big kid now) an older woman came in with her daughter to pick out new frames. My goodness, was the daughter being a bully. It always takes me a while to choose new frames, but this woman had her mom pick frames in 5 minutes flat. “These look good — you should pick them,” she’d say, with barely a chance for her mother to make a comment. The older woman seemed resigned to being treated like a  toddler (but not the way I’d treat a toddler, either!). I understand the frustration of dealing with someone slower than you, but witnessing this didn’t make me feel very comfortable at all.

I expect I’ll be a crotchety old lady. Let me do things in my own way, in my own sweet time. Don’t even think of condescending. Don’t even!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 9 July 2008 10:23 pm

    The roles reverse so subtlety. I have experienced that with my eldest–and with me and my own mother.
    Keep your eyes and ears open! It’ll happen before you even realize it.

    And BTW: the corporate job is a 6-month contract, but my employer has already spoken of buying out my contract. Truth be known, I’m not sure how I feel about it!

Leave a Reply

