Skip to content

Bliss in the Woods

30 June 2008

We arrived at the resort about 23 hours ago, and I don’t know if I ever want to leave. This place is great, in an understated way (not ritzy ditzy, but lots of amenities). In this place, the best way to get around is via rowboat or canoe. 

50 a.m.

So far, we’ve seen a (non-poisonous) water snake, a swarm of catfish babies, a big old frog, a loon, and a tiny baby turtle hitched a ride in our rowboat as we paddled over to the breakfast cookout this morning:
Baby turtle

After breakfast, there was water-skiing. I understand that the kids were able to use kneeling boards. If the adults can use them too, then I may join in next time.

Both the Consort and I brought work to do, and I think we’ll be able to balance fun and work pretty easily here. I can even capture the wifi signal from one of the nearby buildings (we’re in a standalone cabin building).

Everything here just makes you happy. In fact, this morning, when Trixie saw this:

Read between the lines

and said, “Why is it that the *man* is putting his towel back to reuse and the *woman* is dropping hers on the floor? What are they implying here?” , it made me happy to realize again that we are raising conscious young feminists.

Ahhh.

(And I haven’t had to use the notebook yet.)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 30 June 2008 5:51 pm

    Also, I wonder why does the man appear to be of a healthy size, and the woman looks like a toothpick? What are they implying here?

  2. 1 July 2008 4:07 am

    Yes the woman does have a kind of slovenly look about her too. Your resort looks and sounds great enjoy your break.

  3. Three of Four permalink
    1 July 2008 9:37 am

    Sounds (and looks) beautiful. Glad you haven’t pulled out the notebook yet — I bet that helps keep the resort beautiful in an entirely different way.

    Have fun!!

  4. 1 July 2008 11:48 am

    That looks like a lovely place. Canooing to breakfast? What fun.

    Given my experience being that it is usually the man who drops things in a heap its not the best designed form I’ve seen…

  5. 1 July 2008 9:20 pm

    Those subtle differences between male and female–do you think society will ever allow us the blend the lines of division??
    I certainly hope I live long enough to see them erased altogether.

  6. 2 July 2008 12:49 am

    The best places are always understated. Have a great time.

  7. 3 July 2008 5:32 pm

    Have a lovely time. It looks wonderful.

    I don’t know how it works with you, but every hotel I stay in, I carefully consider whether I’d like my towel changed or not, put it on the floor or the rack accordingly – and later, every towel has been changed anyway. This has happened in England, Italy, Poland, Spain and France in the last four years.

  8. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    4 July 2008 7:59 am

    At this place, they don’t take the towels you have dried on the rack. (On the other hand, they keep adding to the pile of fresh towels in the bathroom!)

  9. 6 July 2008 2:43 am

    Hey, we were stealing wifi from the castle next door. Stormed the castle defenses, so to speak, despite the off-putting presence of two rather vicious sounding dogs.

  10. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    7 July 2008 10:15 am

    Now, Kathy, you really should say you were “borrowing” wifi from the castle next door.

    That sounds much more polite!

Leave a Reply

