Skip to content

No Eggs, but More Beets!

22 June 2008

This is going to be another photo-heavy post. Ally mentioned that the photos were loading slowly in the previous post, so could you all tell me if this one is stalling for you, too? I hate it when photos don’t load quickly — and I may be importing the wrong size for them to work well here. Let me know.

I didn’t think I was going to be able to post a One Local Summer meal this week. We were in Boston last weekend, so didn’t have a chance to get to the farmers market. I’m not sure a Sunday meal technically counts for the previous week, either.

But at least this week we didn’t have eggs! (Need I even mention, at this point, that all the veggies came from our favorite farmer, Geo?)

Beets, decapitated

Beets still made an appearance, though. This time, the beets themselves were peeled,

Red malachite

(Don’t they look like malachite? Red malachite? Lovely.)

…and roasted in the oven with olive oil and whole garlic cloves. Trixie, my strange food eater, really likes radishes, so every now and again I will get some. I heated some apple cider vinegar, dissolved in some sugar, then poured that over sliced radishes. Let it cool, then eat.


Quick pickled radishes.

Pickled radish mosaic

I threw some orange juice (and a bit of cornstarch) with the beet greens. You can also see some pan-fried zucchini and summer squash (the nice, tender, early summer small ones). The hummus is not local. And the bread is from a local baker who has a stall at the market, but I’m pretty sure the flour isn’t local.

One Local Summer, week 3

OK. Tomorrow, I promise, a real post!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 23 June 2008 8:59 am

    Looks yummy! I see you peeled your beets before roasting them. Did you know that you can roast them in their skins? Then the skins just slide right off. You may be more adept with a paring knife than I and don’t need to use this technique, but as someone who always manages to injure herself when peeling raw beets, I’ve found it very useful!

  2. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    23 June 2008 9:59 am

    Yes, I love that little squeeze-slip you can do with roasted beets!

    But in this case, I was roasting them with oil, herbs, and garlic. So I didn’t want to lose any of the flavor that was roasting into the beets. (Also, I use a vegetable peeler, rather than a paring knife. I find there’s less mess that way.)

  3. 23 June 2008 8:33 pm

    I’m all over that radish pickle. And yes, the beats do look like malachite. Cool picture!

Leave a Reply

