Skip to content

Because We’re All About Variety

12 June 2008

The Consort made supper last night. After I took a few bites I realized this meal would be as close to a local meal as we are going to have this week, so I ran in (the heat wave has broken so we can eat outside, halleluiah!), grabbed my camera, and took a picture:


Look familiar?

He made an asparagus tart and also prepared some beets (one of Trixie’s favorite veggies), both the root and the greens. Can you see the creaminess on those beets? Mmm mmm. He says the sauce is just the beet juice, reduced, with a hint of ginger (I considered ginger a spice for the sake of the OLS rules). These were the least beety beets I have ever eaten. Not that I dislike beets. It’s just that their earthiness is pretty … strong … and it’s difficult to mask that, typically.

I smeared on some Dijon mustard, and before snapping the picture, the Consort insisted I make sure the bottle was visible. Why? Because Annie’s Naturals is based in Vermont. (I had no idea!). Not that the ingredients may have all come within 100 miles, but hey — local company!

And yes, this meal may be reminiscent of my OLS meal last week, But actually, it’s very different. See, I made an asparagus frittata, and this here was an asparagus tart — you know, with a crust. Plus, mine came with salad and bread. This one came with beets and beet greens. See? Totally different.

(Next week, the goal is to branch out. We figure we’ve pretty much nailed asparagus and eggs combos.)

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Split Sister permalink
    12 June 2008 2:58 pm

    Love the new layout…much cleaner lines and easier to read and navigate. Two thumbs up! (and the food looks yummy too!)

    So, what’s the deal with Blogger?

  2. 14 June 2008 4:54 am

    I bought some asparagus at the farmers market Wednesday, which may be the last of the lovely British asparagus.

    I think I’ll try that–with tofu instead of eggs. Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. 15 June 2008 9:02 am

    I really like the new digs. I understand the frustration with blogger. I say stick it to the man for those of us to scared to leave. LOL

  4. 17 June 2008 5:20 pm

    Yay! for new homes online. 🙂

    Beets look v. g. Am quite interested in this ginger concept; we grew beets last year, and did end up getting a little sick of borscht. Perhaps this is another thing we could add to the repertoire.

  5. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    17 June 2008 7:07 pm

    Hey there, KW! I’ll ask the Consort for the recipe. Trixie’s favorite way of eating beets is roasted, and the greens sauteed in a bit of soy sauce. Like I said, I liked the gingery-ness because the beets didn’t taste as root-y as beets normally do.

    Borscht is only edible if served extremely cold. Tepid borscht feels like vomit, Blech.

  6. joejhorn permalink
    6 July 2008 8:16 pm

    Hello, Love the blog. I just made some spinach and cheese frittata and thought you might be interested. Come check it out when you have the time.

    Regards,

    Joe

    http://cookingquest.wordpress.com/2008/07/06/frittata/

Leave a Reply

