Skip to content

Holding Pattern

11 June 2008

I just grabbed this domain. I’m thinking of switching from Blogger — they are being unhelpful.

Be back soon.

One thing I may not be able to do is move all your lovely comments to the new site — Rats! But they still exist on the Blogger page.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. 11 June 2008 11:12 pm

    Nice place you got here. Is this forever or just a one year sabbatical kind of thing?

  2. 12 June 2008 3:54 am

    You’ll have to move further and faster than that to lose us…..:-)

  3. 12 June 2008 5:01 am

    I’m here too!

  4. 12 June 2008 6:29 am

    Hi!!

  5. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    12 June 2008 6:53 am

    Kathy: Ha! I think it’s permanent … I was having second thoughts last night, but waking up and seeing you-all’s comments reassured me that I won’t be here alone!

    Steg!!!!!!!!! Hello! Long time no read! Welcome!

    Katie: Yay!

    Stew: Hello!

  6. 12 June 2008 8:29 am

    I like your new digs!

    Now for the Fowl talk: The red dots are for reference only, as the eggs must be turned 3 times daily. The green cloth? I don’t know, so I’ll ask and get back to you.

  7. Three of Four permalink
    12 June 2008 9:06 am

    You’re fast, but not fast enough. I’ve caught up to you here.

    Nice digs. Looking forward to new and exciting content!

  8. Three of Four permalink
    12 June 2008 9:07 am

    OK, I will need to figure out the new posting stuff though. Large chunk of my message got cut out. I suspect I know why, but will check to be sure….

  9. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    12 June 2008 9:13 am

    MizMell: Thanks, make yourself at home!

    3 of 4: Tell me what you think it was. I want people to be able to leave links (until I get spammed, of course), long comments, etc.

    It might be something I can fix on my end.

  10. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    12 June 2008 9:14 am

    Oh, and MizMell: That’s fascinating about the red dots on the eggs. What a genius way to keep track of the turning!

  11. cowgirl permalink
    12 June 2008 9:49 am

    ooh– funky 🙂

  12. 12 June 2008 9:59 am

    Very nice! Are you on Ravelry? I joined so I could get at the MagKnits patterns. 🙂

  13. 12 June 2008 10:02 am

    Welcome to your new home :).

  14. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    12 June 2008 1:36 pm

    cowgirl: It’s not too pink, is it? I wanted brown, but couldn’t figure out how to work that color wheel thing.

    Cate: I am! I should probably add that link here. I’m just such a slacker knitter, there isn’t much that changes. I feel unworthy of an account.

    Wendy: Thank you! Have a seat.

  15. 12 June 2008 4:16 pm

    Congratulations on the move! I jumped from Blogger to WordPress last summer and haven’t looked back once. I love Google, but Blogger is just too frustrating (and, as you pointed out, unsupported) to use. I LURVE WordPress!

  16. 14 June 2008 4:53 am

    I have some questions for you: was it easy transferring your files over?

    2. How do you post photos on WordPress? I was trying to help out a friend, who couldn’t figure it out, and I thought she was dumb until I tried it. Do you have to post them on a website such as photobucket first so that you can insert a url instead of the actual photo?

  17. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    14 June 2008 7:32 am

    1. Yes, super easy. You give them the URL, press a button, and 3 years of posts were transferred in about 3 minutes. (Including all the tags — which wordpress calls categories).

    2. There’s a button in the Write New Post window that allows you to upload pictures. I upload all my stuff to flickr first anyway. Yes, the pop-up window requests a URL. I like it when the picture is hotlinked, so I need to fiddle around with stuff to see how to do that.

    Their FAQ and support pages are wonderfully clear, too.

    I love it!

  18. 14 June 2008 7:56 am

    I’ve tried that button (the add media button)…nothing happens. I get a blank pop up window, after I browse my computer for a photo to upload.

    I wonder if they’re having some issues too?

  19. 14 June 2008 6:25 pm

    *waves merrily*
    me likes.

  20. 16 June 2008 4:52 am

    I think they were having some issues. I read about that on their forums. It seems to work now, fwiw.

    Btw, I like the new colors. That shade of red is my favorite.

Leave a Reply

