Skip to content

6 September 2006

Did you know that some people believe that civil servants–say, postal workers–have no sense of humor? Of course they have a sense of humor!

I’ve been excited about receiving my last Secret Pal package. My SP noted in the comments this weekend that it was on its way. This being a holiday weekend, I knew I’d have to wait a bit more than usual, but hey, this would just whet my appetite.

Today, my mail carrier must have been on vacation, because instead of gettting my mail at 10:30, it didn’t arrived until 5 pm, and was delivered by someone I have never seen before.

“I’ve got a package for you,” she sang as she walked up the porch steps.

“Oh goody! I hope it’s what I think it is!” I answered. I didn’t jump up and down because I am an adult, and adults don’t do that.

Yes! It is a package, and I even took a picture of it before I opened it:

Now, you all are a perceptive bunch. I’m sure you see that little floating magenta arrow. I wondered what an arrow was doing hovering over my package (because you never see magenta arrows after mid June or so in these parts), so I bent down to look:

And so, you see: postal employees do have a sense of humor. QED.

I will be strong, and will not yield to temptation. (This will be good practice for me knowing where the chocolate is in the cabinet but not eating it!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

